Visit to the Vatican

Friday 9 June I’m sitting in Wondertree at the South Terminal of Gatwick airport looking forward to a nice salad and glass of wine before I set off to Rome in a few hours. My flight has slightly been delayed and I am feeling a little bit more relaxed than I did a few hours ago. I’ve been to three different destinations (Brussels, Ibiza, and Mallorca) over the space of a month and was feeling slightly overwhelmed at having just arrived back last week, only to set off again this week. Disturbed sleep patterns, busy work schedules on top of everything else called life, meant that since being back, I felt that I haven’t had much ‘me time’. Seriously, the ‘woe is me’ story was real a few hours ago where I felt that my ever increasing ‘to do’ list was permanently renting space in my head and getting me worried about what I must do next week before even leaving for this trip. However, after a good talking to myself and telling my inner voice to ‘shut up’, I am now feeling more relaxed and excited to be eating pasta and visiting the Vatican City.

Saturday 10 June

It’s amazing what a bit of sun can do. I’m lying on the beige sun lounger by the stone paved floor of the 25-meter pool. Trees are dotted around me, and the sounds of the birds happily chirp in the distance.

Despite the sounds of the motorway traffic trying to drown out my zen-like state, I am super relaxed and loving it. I am the only one here! There’s blue sky above and I am in my element topping up my Vitamin D levels – bliss. All my stressing yesterday has vanished – now this is what it is all about.

I’m now sitting on a wooden bench in the Vatican Museums entrance, waiting for my tour to start. I’m welcoming a quick little recharge after the hours of walking I did earlier along the green water of the River Tiber to the Castel Saint Angelo and then on to the Piazza Navona, The Pantheon and St Peters Square before making my way to my final destination – The Vatican.

The Vatican Museums are beautiful – all the art, the Roman sculptures with the life-like eyes and the grounds are unbelievable.

The Sistine Chapel is also stunning, I mean how can it not be what with the famous work of Michelangelo and other great masters such as Pietro Perugino, Sandro Botticelli, Biagio D’Antonio, Cosimo Rosselli, Luca Signorelli and Domenico Ghirlandaio.

However, it is not a pleasant experience. I’m in a room with hundreds of people and feel like I am at a festival as it is so crowded. I can’t stay long, but despite the noise and the crowd, I still get a sense of awe as I look up to the ceiling and see parts of the book of Genesis depicted beautifully above and stories of Jesus and Moses on the North and South walls.

I’m zapped and the sun is still shining bright as I veer away from the Vatican City and make my way to a restaurant recommended by another tour guide – Brandamante.

Negroni’s and some pasta is the perfect way to end a beautiful day. As I sip on the strong tastes of one of Italy’s classic cocktails, I breath it all in and smile – what a lucky girl I am!

Sunday 11 June I’m trying my very best to channel my inner calm after the taxi driver has taken me to the wrong airport! I thought it was a bit strange when I saw the flight screen in the departure terminal and noticed my flight was not up there. I am meant to be flying from Rome Ciampiono and had my transfer booked through the hotel, but instead the taxi has taken me to Rome Leonardo De Vinci, somewhat 40 mins away from the airport I am meant to be at. My flight is at 6:10 and it’s now 4:50, there is no way it is going to work. That sudden sinking feeling of knowing you’re going to miss your flight and there is nothing you can do about it has started to surge. Thankfully, I am able to book another flight with Vueling to leave a couple of hours later and I am sat in Gate E looking forward to the journey back. It could have been worse, and I am mindful that changing my mindset is key to the rest of the day going swimmingly. In fact, now I’ve got another flight, I can now see the funny side of it – another story in the Nadia travel saga. I’ve also somehow managed to rip half of my nail off so this inner zen needs to come out in full force so that the rest of the day is a good day! Sitting here reflecting on my whirlwind tour of Rome, I have to say there is something special about the city. Despite the unbelievable crowds, the rip-off taxis, and the latest mishap – it truly is a city that has a certain lure, a ‘Je Ne Sais Quoi’ about it. With the cobbled streets, beautiful buildings and a plethora of restaurants and bars, it really is a lover’s paradise and extremely suited to those who like a little adventure and are happy to soak it all up and get lost in it all for a while.

About Egyptna Travels

Traveller, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment