Skiing in Slovakia

Friday 17 March

It’s that time again where I venture across the waters to another European destination – this month, Slovakia awaits. I’m sat on the plane eagerly waiting for take-off as my end destination involves a short stay near the Tatra mountains and hopefully some skiing. 

After clearing security, we pick up the car and begin our 2-hour journey driving through the winding rows lined with trees. Every now and again, we get teased with a small patch of snow and wonder if we are a bit too late to catch the last ski runs of the season. 

Then we catch a glimpse of the majestic snow filled Tatra Mountains in front – they have not disappointed, and their magical lure excites us more as we get closer to this part of the Carpathian Mountain range. 

We arrive at Čerešňový Sad – a suite of lovely spacious apartments about 20 mins drive from the mountains. We are the only ones here and we rejoice in the stillness and quietness surrounding us, while sipping wine on our large terrace. The High Tatras are calling us and I can’t wait!

Saturday 18 March

It’s 5:56am, I’m outside watching the big orange sun slowly turn to white as it rises and lights up the sky. I suck in the grand view of the white topped peaks belonging to the majestical Tatra Mountains on the horizon, while the ensemble of birds perfectly orchestrate their sweet morning call. Just bliss.

We arrive at the car park, park up and jump on the bus to the ski resort, where we buy our ski passes, rent our gear, and take our lesson with Theodor, our ski instructor. This isn’t my first rodeo but I’m keen to start from the basics again and soon we are doing turns and making lots of use of the snow plough on the way down. Once at the bottom, it’s back up on the button lift and repeat. This is the format for most of the day and I love it.

After donning our skis, we jump on the ski lift to the top of the mountain. The view is spectacular, a blanket of snow everywhere while a bed of green Norway spruces line the path below for as long as the eye can see. The sky is brilliant blue with the odd fluffy cloud dotted around. I lie down on the crunchy white snow with the sun beaming down my face – this is idyllic and the perfect end to the day. 

Sunday 19 March

It’s Mother’s Day today. I forgot initially until I saw the Facebook posts and messages. Maybe I tried to block it out and live in the moment. However, now I am now feeling sad, I miss my mum but glad I had her as my mum for a huge part of my life. She spent so much time with us as kids, took us places, fuelled our imagination, kick started our love of exploring things from food to experiences and more. She was my biggest advocate and always supported me in everything I did. Miss you mum and hope you are dancing in heaven today. I’m going to go and explore today as you would have wanted me to do. Love you. 

We have arrived in Starý Smokovec a small little town located in the central part of the High Tatras to catch the funicular to Hrebienku for a little walk and to see the Tatra Ice Dome. After a 3 min ride up to the mountains, we arrive at Hrebienku and walk to the Ice dome, which house several ice sculptures. It’s cold but mesmerising – there is something about ice art that is really magical. I stand in awe walking around these giant sculptures with their intricate details – this must have taken some time. 

Soon we are on our way following the snowy and slippery trails, taking in the beautiful mountain landscapes and green trees. Finally, we arrive at a little stream with great big boulders and stop for a few pictures on the small wooden bridge before we head back. I write a message to mum in the snow then continue back toward Starý Smokovec on foot instead of opting for the funicular back. 

We stop for a bite to eat at Starý Šmakovec restaurant. After deliberation I opt for the game goulash with cranberries, baby plum and Carlsbad dumplings for my main, blueberry cheesecake with forest fruit for dessert, and an indulgent hot chocolate with whipped cream for an extra treat – very naughty but nice! Now I have a food coma and it’s time to drive back to the comfort of our beautiful apartment overlooking the mountains. 20 mins later and we are back. I’ve had an amazing time and as I reflect on the beauty, I think of my beautiful mama and raise a glass to her in the sky.

 

High Tatras Mountains with snow peaks
High Tatras view from path near our apartment

About Egyptna Travels

Traveller, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment