Life is what you make it 

I realise it has been quite some time since I last published a piece. Apologies for the radio silence but since I came back from my epic adventures – something changed in me. 

After the tales had died down and me being back from my travels was not new anymore – it kind of sucked. It sucked because the buzzing energy, racing endorphins and the freedom of travel was now a mere memory. A file in my cabinet, that seemed to be collecting dust. 

I mean how many times can you tell someone that your trip was amazing?
They couldn’t possibly revel in my excitement as they weren’t there. To them, my ramblings seemed resemblant to that of an excited school kid, who was telling the story of never never land. They listened intently of course – wanting to share the joy but they just didn’t get what I was trying to relay. The truth is no one will – unless they have experienced it themselves. 

That feeling of breath taking beauty when you see a sunset full of colours that you never could have imagined. The feeling of being amongst nature and getting up close and personal with Dolphins in their natural habitat. That feeling of euphoria – when you realise that this world is made up of perfect things that you once took for granted.

Traveling for me was an overload of senses – an explosion of colours, sounds and smells. It was a taste of freedom. It was a taste of real beauty and a small glimpse into what this world has to offer.

It was me!

Of course I missed my family and loved coming back to see them but as the days turned over – the emptiness inside grew larger.

How could I go back to work doing the same 9-5 now I had been spoilt? 

Now the world had my heart – my compulsion for traveling again was getting stronger and my zest for the life I left behind was slowly fizzling out. The problem was, I knew I couldn’t just up and go again. After exhausting all my traveling funds – it meant I was stuck in the UK at least for a while longer.

The visions of Tube chaos and misery as drone-like people made their daily commute into a job they had to do, rather than wanted to do became a flashing beacon in my mind.

I just couldn’t do it. After seeing and doing so many wonderful things – how could I possibly subject myself to the Same Shit Different Day mentality?

After a few weeks of feeling lost, I had a lightbulb moment and thought that life was too short to waste on meaningless things. 

Thankfully for me, I had no responsibilities binding me to something I didn’t like – no kids, no mortgage – just me. I was free from any financial burden and if I got stuck – I could always fall back on my career. I could always go into an office on a temporary basis as a marketing manager or consultant like I had been doing for the past ten years. 

My mind was made up and from that day I would try my best to swerve the conventional 9-5 job. Instead I was to start taking control of my life and start doing the things I’ve always wanted to do.

In August I made that decision and since then I have never looked back. I’m getting into acting (a complete career change), will soon be self publishing a book – Sunshine After the Rain, relaunching Talent Reel (my network for creative females) and starting a family business (online selling) as a bit of residual income.

It’s all early days but I’ve had some great wins so far and I’m so excited for what the future holds now. 

And yes you guessed it – in between I’ll be visiting as many new countries as I can – to see more of this beautiful world. 

My advice to anyone thinking of doing the same is go for it! You don’t want to get older and say “what if?” However, if you do – you never know what may come of it.

So start living your dreams people – because life really is too short! 

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

