Ticking off that list

A while ago I wrote a post on the things I wanted to achieve by the time I’m 40 – Forty things before I’m Forty.

Since I wrote that post back in February 2013, I have slowly been ploughing through the list. Number 32 was to go to the Opera and as of yesterday night, I can now happily tick that one off.

I went to see La Boheme at the Sydney Opera House and I really enjoyed it. The storyline had a bit of everything from a poetic love story to scenes that make you chuckle once you glance over at the surtitles to understand what everyone was saying. la boheme

La Boheme, an Opera in four acts by Giacomo Puccini and sung in Italian was first performed at the Teatro Regio, Turin in 1896.

With only a handful of performances left at the Sydney Opera House and no more operas scheduled until next year, I was a very lucky girl to be able to see this classic in this iconic building in the most beautiful setting.

It all felt a bit surreal as we wandered past the flags flapping in the wind depicting images of La Boheme on them. I walked with my friend Sam to the iconic open seashells in front of me. The view was spectacular, the water glistened as I took in the views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and followed the water of the magnificent harbour setting to the big white visionary sculpture.

Once in, we ordered a couple of glasses of sparkling wine and made our way to our seats. After a short time, the lights were dimmed, the performance started and the Goosebumps began forming on my arms.

My first experience of the Opera has been a truly exceptional experience and it will be hard to beat this first considering the magical setting and glorious ambience throughout the evening. sydney

In fact, my time in Sydney has been absolutely fantastic and a lot of that has been down to our hosts Su and Michael who have gone over and above to make our stay in Sydney as good as it can be.

I have been very lucky to experience the magical fireworks at Darling Harbour, the tasty seafood at the Sydney Fish Market and trekking through the enchanted Blue Mountains. I even ran the bay run, supped on freshly ground coffee at the Grounds and dined on authentic Australian bbq amongst other culinary delights.

We are off to Newcastle today to begin our trip along the East Coast to Cairns so who knows what’s in store for us. All I know is I’m very excited for the next chapter. 1044212_10154731389583065_1516820300617125615_n

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

