Greetings from Thailand

So the time has finally come and I have now begun my epic journey of adventure – Nadia’s quest for even more happiness.

image1 - Copy

Koh Tao Sairee Beach

 

Travelling has always been something that really lights that spark inside, that warm fuzzy feeling you get when you are in a place that you are mesmerised by – the place that seems like paradise. For me that paradise first became apparent when I visited Mexico approximately 10 years ago. It was the first time I had ever seen sand so velvety white and waters that were crystal clear you could see your feet. It was paradise to me and I wanted it to last forever – but unfortunately it had to end after two weeks.

Since then, I have been to quite a few paradisiacal places and every time I feel like I’m at my happiest, most peaceful and content. There is something about somewhere new with different cultures, different food, glorious sunshine and tremendous beaches that really does it for me.

Therefore, my dream has been to travel and explore this world as much as possible. However sometimes life gets in the way, especially when you meet someone who has had their fair share of travelling and doesn’t want the same as you. So what do you do –  you compromise.

Fast-forward to May last year and everything changed which meant that I could actually embark on the journey I wanted to do…………and I didn’t have to compromise.

You see I don’t want to leave this world with regrets, so what does a free spirit do? Well they book themselves some flights for a 6-month trip seeing Asia, Australia and New Zealand and the countdown begins.

Boy did those few months seem like a lifetime – everything was getting to me and I couldn’t wait to get to my destination sooner. Don’t get me wrong – I’ve had some amazing times with family and friends in the lead up to my departure but every day going into the office made me want the exciting day to hurry up and come.

As well as the ups there has also been a bit of stress over the past month as my dad suddenly had to undergo major heart surgery where he ended up having a quintuple bypass. Thank goodness it all went smoothly and papa Yos is recovering well but it did give all of us a bit of a scare.

In fact, there were times of extreme tension after the operation – probably a build-up of a number of emotions as it took a lot out of us all. Once we were given the okay, I could start to prepare for my trip. But where had all the time gone? The days had started to rapidly dwindle and my departure was looming. All those days yearning for the day to come turned into a feeling of not having enough time to do everything before I left.

However, the day finally came to say goodbye to my loved ones as I walked through security, and sure enough there were tears as I waved to them continuously before I turned the corner and wouldn’t see them for half the year.

It was very surreal, I didn’t feel excited, I didn’t have a massive grin on my face, instead my mind was a jumbled mess. Perhaps I was apprehensive about travelling as a single female, not knowing where I would lay my head, being on my own for long periods of time? I don’t know.

I’ve been in Thailand for four days now and finally I’m starting to unwind more and more. When I first arrived in Bangkok it seemed unbelievably surreal and when I arrived in Koh Tao – I started wondering if backpacking was really for me. I am a creature of comfort and a bit of luxury so when I reached Koh Tao and the toilet in my room didn’t flush and I could see worms in it – I felt absolutely repulsed and thought about booking the nicest hotel I could on the island.

After a quiet word with reception, my toilet was dealt with and I’m becoming more accustomed with my surroundings.

I’m now sitting in a nice beach restaurant overlooking the turquoise water of the sea, sipping coconut water with the melodic beat of house in the background and I’m feeling more at peace.

I’ve booked my PADI diving course, been for a run on the beach, went to a beach party and had two massages in a day. Yes, I know I should be watching the pennies but I’m on my long holiday and I’m here to make the most of it.

WIN_20160114_06_33_52_Pro

 

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Greetings from Thailand

  1. Andy says:

    Great start to your blog beautiful. I look forward to reading it and travelling with you on your adventures. Stay safe and enjoy the diving xx

    Like

  2. longlost&foundcuz says:

    Enjoy … keep up the blogging!!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad your dad’s well. Get those Thai massages in while you can. It an be difficult to find good quality accommodation out there but you will find a way to flourish. Can’t wait to read more!

    Like

  4. Mark says:

    Lovely peice Nads, keep em coming. Have a wonderful trip, we’re all cheering you on.
    Love Mark Trish and the Kids xxx

    Like

  5. Michelle says:

    Keep posting babe I’m loving this, I close my eyes and feel I’m out there with you! Grab every opportunity while you can, saviour every moment and live you’re dream to the full! Keep posting and plenty of photos too 😘 Love you millions xxxxx

    Like

  6. elizabeth ismail says:

    Darling I loved reading your post, looking forward to reading your next one. Keep safe sweetheart & enjoy this amazing adventure. Love you very much xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

