Another year older but not necessarily wiser

Well what can I say apart from – the past week has been epic in so many ways. My birthday was last Wednesday and I was greeted by well wishes, texts, cards, love, presents, laughter and great company. My sister did an absolute sterling job of arranging everything and she did it splendidly. I was truly showered with love from friends and family and just reading my diary states it all. I am one lucky girl!

I have definitely let the excitement of my birthday and extended birthday override any exercise plans that should have restarted. As my mum says – I do like to drag out my birthday celebrations as long as possible and this year was no exception. There has been drunk Boris Bike riding, happy hour cocktails, unexpected street parties, conga parties, dining out and evenings in with good company and a bottle or two of vino!

My birthday cards are still up and I have accepted fate that exercise is not likely to start back up until next week now.

Although it has been a week of gatherings and social occasions, there has to come a point where I get back to some kind of normal routine. Some kind of structure is needed as the dreaded fear of losing my fitness levels is starting to loom and I have been feeling a bit guilty. I have had a ‘sod it’ week yet again and diet, exercise and sleep have all gone out the window. The only thing that has remained consistent has been work and partying but hey I didn’t say I was another year wiser – just another year older!

Although I have had an amazing week full of surprises and fun, I have also had a few persistent questions and thoughts running through my mind when I have had some alone time. I suppose I have been reflecting on a number of things which could be due to me having more time on my hands as the ultra training is over but also because heavy drinking sessions can also make you question life in general!

What has come out of my thinking is that everything happens for a reason and its good to talk. It’s good to get things out, its good to reflect and its good to share moments with your loved ones. It’s also good to look to the future, live in the present and not dwell in the past.

One thing I know is that I am an extremely lucky girl to have such wonderful family and friends surrounding me who are there when I need advice, there to console me when I feel I need a cry and there to share the laughter. This has been the case for many years and I am very grateful to have the wonderful network I have around me.

So actually, so what if I haven’t done any exercise in a couple of weeks? So what if I have had a week full of partying? So what if I have smoked again? So what if I have had a few moments of deep thought and questioning? Am I lucky? extremely, Am I grateful – how could I not be? Then stop the worrying and enjoy the present as it will soon be the past, and as for everything else – next week is a new week and it comes with new experiences, new challenges and new opportunities for me to seize!

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

