The time is near

The Ridgeway path. Photo from Wikipedia

I can’t believe that tomorrow I will embark on one of my biggest physical challenges to date. Tomorrow a group of strong, determined women and I will tackle Race to the Stones.

Race to the stones is an ultra marathon that follows a route used since prehistoric times by travellers, herdsmen and soldiers. 

Described as Britain’s oldest road, a handful of the group will be tackling the 60 mile non-stop course tomorrow at 8am. Eeek! I am so excited and looking forward to setting off on this epic journey through the amazing British countryside to witness nature at its best.

I expect there to be lots of emotions flying around my head tomorrow but one thing I will have to keep at the forefront is to turn can’t into CAN! Yes I can do this and I will.

Oh I am under no illusion that it will easy but all I need to do is keep putting one foot in front of the other. My game plan will consist of taking the role of the tortoise tomorrow – tackle everything slowly and surely but in that way eventually I will finish.

I suppose most individuals would have prepared their bag yesterday and been a bit more organised but no not me. I went out and treated myself to lobster last night because “hey I’m running an ultra and I deserve it” came into play. The thing is most people treat themselves after but I have felt the need to do it before, justifying eating cake and sweets because of my intense training and months without drinking. My coach nearly had a fit when I told her about my sweet intake and I was told to wait until the day when I can eat as much cake as I want.

Therefore if cake wasn’t passing my lips, my favourite shellfish was! So to Burger and Lobster I went with some work colleagues yesterday. The prep went out the window and instead feeding my craving was more important.

So that leaves me today to buy the things I wrote on my list this morning, pack my bag, do some work and catch my train this afternoon. Not very organised at all – especially as I should be hitting the shops and instead I am writing this blog!

So sense tells me I better be off and start getting sorted and on that note I will depart.

However first I would like to wish my fellow runners running the Race to the Stones this weekend – good luck. What you can and what you can’t do is set by your mind. Change your mindset, believe in yourself and most importantly enjoy. This will be an amazing journey and one that started when you signed up to the race and now its time to put the training in practice to ensure you finish.

Train your brain to turn any doubts into positives and visualise like world athletes do – crossing that finishing line. Vision is powerful my friends and  will set you up on the road to believing that you can and will do this. Belief is key and I believe in you – you just need to believe in yourself.

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

