Really, 100km????

Several months ago I decided to join up to something that I thought would be really cool. It was a women’s project started by the absolute legend Sorrell Walsh – the female speedy Gonzalez in Run Dem Crew. Sorrell started WmnRun100 to encourage more women into ultra running. As a founder of a network for encouraging and promoting female talent – I thought this was a cause I could resonate with. Therefore I signed up with little hesitation.

Well lo and behold, I had no idea what was coming next. I originally thought that the project was started to get women ready for the “Race to the Stones” in 2016. Little did I know that Sorrell was aiming high and had her heart set on 2015. I nearly choked when I realised. I remember lots of feelings flying through my head with the biggest one taunting “you can’t do it this year, you have only done one marathon” over and over again in my head.

With kind and inspiring words from Sorrell, I squished my little devil of doubt and entered the race – there was no going back.

So fast forward a few months and how am I feeling now the race is less than two weeks away? Nervous, excited and very tired are a few words that spring to mind.

However with the help of Sorrell and her scheduled weekly runs with a great collective of women – I feel really supported and that makes me feel good and gives me the encouragement that I can and I will do this.

Signing up to the race made me wake up and get stuck in so I got myself a coach (Barbara from Energy Labs), gave up drinking and started putting the effort in.

My training has been intense. I have sores in places I didn’t think I could get them, toenails that are on their way to falling off, blisters on my feet and aches and pains in lots of places.

However, although it has been hard, it has also been rewarding. I have lost half a stone in weight, I am paying more attention to what I eat, I look more toned and despite not having much energy, I feel like a new person.

With less than two weeks until the big day, I am very pleased at where I have  got to so far. I am not under any illusion that it will be easy but I do know that whatever is thrown my way – I will deal with. That’s partly due to the great team I have around me and the belief that Sorrell had in me when I didn’t quite have it in myself. Thanks Sorrell, if it wasn’t for you – this would have been one of those things that I only did in my mind, but now you are making it a reality.

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Really, 100km????

  1. You’re amazing, never forget that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

