Be careful of pushing yourself too hard

Well I’m lying in bed as I type this and it feels like I’m in a competition with my right eyelid to see how long it can stay open for. Why? Because I was shattered yesterday, shattered today and will now probably be shattered tomorrow. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not complaining but I have noticed the decline in my energy levels since my intensive training.

It’s all completely normal when you exert the body and I still haven’t fully recovered from my long run just over a week ago. Top that with the race I ran yesterday and its no wonder I am feeling shattered all the time.

Anyway today I checked out Darren’s (Geek Fitness) session at Paddington Rec thinking I was going to be able to resume my normal planned run of 1hr 15 mins after. A big fat no to that one.

Darren’s session was great and really worked my core and with everything from press ups and planks to squat jumps and lunges – I know I will be finding it hard tomorrow. The thing is, I found it hard tonight, my legs felt like jelly both during and after the workout.

On my attempted run home I could only muster 1.5 miles at an almost walking speed of 13.09 mins per mile. I then took the conscious decision to call it a day and dragged my legs to Swiss Cottage station where I sank into the carriage seat and dreamt of being in a warm bath.

Geek Fitness, I’m definitely coming back – just on a day when I have no other running commitments planned.

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

