A long soak in the bath has never felt so good!

I savoured every moment of the luscious bubbles and the hot water filling up the tub and soothing my aching musles. This quite possibly was one of the best baths I have had to date. Or the one I most appreciated. Why? Because today was a day where I pushed my body to the limits and I can also proudly say another milestone has been achieved. I am officially part of the ultra marathon club!

Thanks to a great coach and just as awesome team mate, we managed to pull off a staggering 70km trip from Shoreditch to Hemel Hempstead. I still can’t believe it! If you would have told me a year ago that one day I would run further than a marathon distance – I would have politely told you to “get lost”.  Yet here I am today, wearing that t-shirt and feeling the burn in my legs.

Was it hard? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Yes? Am I sore? Absolutely. My legs are tender and my feet are starting to swell and blister up but my mind is feeling very accomplished and proud.

It wasn’t easy and there were times I became quite moody and didn’t speak for a whole hour. I couldn’t, I was struggling and all I could muster up was the odd nod and smile but inside I was battling my own demons. My body was telling me “your legs are really, really hurting” and my mind was saying “of course their bloody hurting, you have just run 30 miles – damn, how will you do double this distance for Race to the Stones? You should probably stop now and get a train home as your legs have been hurting since the 6 mile mark, maybe you need to rest and try this another day”.

I had to keep telling my mind to shut up at times, “try not to focus – you need to think of other things”. That’s when I started to appreciate the countryside again – it was beautiful, lots of green, calm water and the most quaint little canal boats. “Embrace Nadia” and that’s what I did.

Around the 37 mile mark, I began to become a bit delirious and couldn’t stop laughing, I was laughing because I had run out of water and thought a canal boat was offering juice – well it turned out to be ‘e-cig juice’. However the way I was feeling, I could have quite easily drunk it too!

The last bits were actually quite a pleasure (minus the lack of water) and I started to get excited that we would be nearly finished. I couldn’t believe it was nearly over. I definitely went through a number of stages: from the “I’m loving this”, to the “it’s getting hard” followed by “I want to go home, no-one talk to me” to the “yeah this is soooo pretty” to “whooo hooo, we’re nearly there”.

Even though I found it a bit of a struggle at times, I am extremely happy I did it. It was a great run (minus the mind moments) but it’s expected. There will always be those moments of doubt but I realise that sometimes you just need to tell your head to “shut up”  and keep moving as you will get your mojo back and appreciate the beauty of the run as soon as you do this.

Anyway enough from me – where’s my bowl of pasta!

Peace, love and light

N

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

