Wine tasting and 39 more things to do before I’m 40

So yesterday was a day that I was able to tick one of those items off my list – the 40 things to do before I am forty list.

5 o’clock hit and it was time to get out of work because that meant it was wine o’clock time. I made my way in the bitter evening, fraught with snow and wind to Battersea where I met my two amigas or partners in crime for an evening of slurping, swirling and of course drinking.

We tried out WoWchers wine deal at Copy and Taste where we got to learn about the different grape varieties, regions, tastes and the most important bit – we got to drink. No spitting for us!

It was a very informal but friendly atmosphere with canape’s and a selection of white, red and rose tastings. We learnt how to swirl and slurp (which doesn’t sound nice) but is in fact the terms used apparently.

Swirling is when you hold the stem of your glass, making circular movements so that the wine moves around the glass and has time to breath, releasing more vapours. We noted the difference of smell when doing this and then practiced swirling the wine around our mouths and then breathing in air through the small opening (slurping). Warning – you might choke at this point, like my friend did so approach with caution!

This being my first tasting session meant I had never been exposed to these techniques before. However I soon got the hang of it and I was inhaling air through the small opening of my mouth (which is full of wine btw) like a pro. Wow! You can really taste the alcohol when you do this and to be honest I think I prefer sipping.

I am not quite sure whether I have the palette or nose to take this up as a hobby full time but the evening was really fun, interesting and definitely worth a go to try something new.

Most of all I got to spend time with my two dear friends and I have also ticked off one thing on my to-do list which means just another 39 to go.

About egyptna

Traveler, actress and author who believes in positive frequencies and the law of attraction. Continually striving to be a better person - to learn, love and accept more about myself and others. This universe is full of wonderful things - it's down to us to open our eyes and see them and make the most of our time here. #letsmakeitcount
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

